We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
supported by
Arturo Maldonado
Arturo Maldonado thumbnail
Arturo Maldonado This is such an amazing album from start to finish. It's the type of album that you listen to with some nice headphones on in the dark while laying on your bed. It has a bit of a sad vibe to it and makes me feel a little sad sometimes, but in a good way if that makes sense? Hits all those feeler spots in just the right way. Really strong first solo album and it's going to be hard to top this one, but Kris can do it! Favorite track: 3-6-27.
tomchr thumbnail
tomchr Melifluous sounds, love that Abbey Rd echo chamber. Opaque lyric on track 1 - haven't cracked it yet... some sort of cult/religious subtext? Favorite track: The Same Way Again.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10.69 AUD  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    It's a labour of love this one. Recorded at Abbey Road Studios in one day with some of the best musicians going around, we have Jackmann's (Kris') first solo effort. The vinyl includes the 9-track album, plus 3 extra tracks that were on the EP. It's gonna be a howler!

    *all copies get the digital version, plus all will be signed and personally numbered! So if you want 1 of 100, get in quick!

    Includes unlimited streaming of Low Key via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 60 days
    edition of 100 

      $55 AUD or more 


3-6-27 04:30



Side A
Her Love is Savage (3:19)
Can I Be Your Friend? (3:27)
That’s How I Knew It Was A Dream (3:17)
The Ship of Theseus (4:41)
3-6-27 (4:31)
All or Nothing (4:35)

Side B
The Same Way Again (2:38)
Feet to the Floor (5:11)
Here It Is, My Love (2:54)
Not a Bad Person (5:43)
The Wolf & The Hare (5:07)
Yes/No/Maybe [Don’t Know] (3:03)

All songs written by K. Schroeder (except Track 6: Schroeder-De Backer)


released September 11, 2020

Produced by Sam Okell and Kris Schroeder
Recordist & Mix Engineer: Sam Okell
Assistant Engineer: Toby Hulbert
Recorded & Mixed at Abbey Road Studios, 3 Abbey Rd, St John's Wood, London NW8 9AY, United Kingdom
Mastered by William Bowden

Featuring the Vocal Talents of Vashti Anna (Track 8), Nada Souikra (Track 4) and Nigel (Track 12).

The Low-Key Playas are...
John Blease: Percussion & Kit
Adam Chetwood: Guitar
Paddy Milner: Pianoforte

And Also...
Stefano Civetta: Piano Accordion (Track 8)
Tim Heath: Electric Guitar (Track 11) & Bass Guitar (Tracks 6, 8, 10 & 11)
Jake Mason: Hammond Organ (Tracks 1, 4 & 5)
George Oulton: Trumpet (Track 8)

Photography: Campbell Hynam-Smith (cover) & Michael Mortlock (rear)
Design: Anna Roszko
C & P 2020 The Y. J. Sonance Co.


all rights reserved



The Basics Melbourne, Australia

The Basics ( /ˈbæzɪtʃ/ bazz-ich) are a three-piece band from Melbourne, Australia, formed by Wally De Backer and Kris Schroeder in 2002, later joined by Tim Heath.

They’re pretty silly but the music is rather good, especially on a Saturday night.
... more

contact / help

Contact The Basics

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Low Key, you may also like: